lex chase
Checkmate Ever After – Art by Anne Cain

The day disgraced superhero Memphis Rook literally fell into Hogarth Dawson’s lap, you could say it was fate. But the brawny Rook did nearly crush Garth’s pancreas. What started as two ships passing in the night ended on the weirdest adventure of their lives. Together, Rook and Garth form Checkmate, a daring super duo that keeps Axis City safe from a rogue’s gallery of nefarious villains, dastardly masterminds, and a coalition of calamity. Fighting evil wherever it appears—from reality shows to comic book conventions, Checkmate serves up knuckle sandwiches of justice. But by day, they’re a couple of broke losers that can barely afford a burger and navigating a weird thing called a relationship. Ain’t true love grand? Rook and Garth may be in over their heads, and even super heroes fail sometimes, but they’re ready to take a stand when no one else will. Don’t hate the players, because Checkmate owns the game.

Checkmate Ever After is the definitive collection of the Checkmate series. The stories are:

  • Pawn Takes Rook
  • Pawn Takes Rook: Cashing the Reality Check
  • Pawn Takes Rook: Conventional Love
  • Pawn Takes Rook: Miracle In Axis City (All new story!)
  • Pawn Takes Rook: What the Water gave Me (Bonus short!)


2016 Rainbow Awards Third Place Winner in Best Gay Sci-fi!


Book Info

Genre: Superhero Comedy
Length: Anthology
Published: December 15, 2015 by DSP Publications
ISBN: 978-1-63476-462-9

Buy Links

International Buy Links


You say, but Lex! I don’t have an e-Reader! And I say, there’s an app for that!

Download a free app from Kindle, Nook, iBooks, or Kobo and you, yes, you, can read e-Books on your smartphone, computer, or tablet.  (You know. That thing you play Candy Crush on.)

Apps are available for PC | Everything Apple Ever Created | Android | Blackberry, and Windows smartphones. Just visit your device’s app store or click on any of these handy dandy links.